Generation €uro Students’ Award 2017 National Winners Announced

The Central Bank of Ireland today (3 March 2017) announced the National Winners of the Generation €uro Students’ Award for 2017, a competition for transition and fifth year students aimed at encouraging an awareness of economics and monetary policy decision making.

Students from Summerhill College in Sligo, will represent Ireland at the European Central Bank in April where they will meet President Mario Draghi and the winning teams from across the euro area to take part in a series of workshops and events. The team captain was Eoin McGloin and he was joined by fellow students Luke Hamilton, Ian Solano, Oisín Fitzgerald and Seán Ballantine. The team was mentored by their teacher, Dervilla Casey.

Teams from the Institute of Education in Dublin and Scoil Mhuire in Cork came joint runners up in the competition.