Congratulations to the 2018/2019 winners!

On Thursday 4 April, the BCL hosted the final and prize-giving ceremony of the Eurosystem's "Generation €uro Students' Award" school competition. This event closed the Luxembourg edition of the competition for the 2018-2019 school year.

For the 2018-2019 edition, 31 teams took part in the first round in November, an online quiz with 30 questions on the Eurosystem and its monetary policy. Of these 31 teams, 12 were selected for the second round in January, when they were asked to make a monetary policy decision and explain in writing the rationale behind that decision. The final on Thursday, April 4 brought together the top three teams at the end of the second round. The finalist teams had to present a new monetary policy decision to a jury of BCL experts and then answer questions from the jury.

The teams that reached the final were :

  • First place - The "One Direction" team of the Athénée du Luxembourg (1st place), composed of Serena Boukelmoun, Carl'Amedeo Czarnocki Luscheschi, Brian Lackner, Elisabeth Martin, Egan Paquay (teacher : Christophe Baustert)
  • Second place - The "The Lion Kings" team of the Hubert Clément High School, composed of Daniel Carvalho Marques Paiva, Vitoria Fernandes Antunes Dias, Graciette Marques, Anida Spahija (teacher : Carlo Klein)
  • Third place - The "Dynasty" team of the Hubert Clément High School, composed of Alec Gasbarrini, Monica Pereira, Inês Rodrigues, Matis Stephany (teacher : Carlo Klein)


Photo: Mr. Gaston Reinesch, President of the BCL, accompanied by the jury and the participants in the final.